A three-day international gathering presenting keynotes,
live Internet performances, and global roundtable discussions

March 29 – March 31, 2018

A collaboration between the School of Art, Design & Media at
Nanyang Technological University (Singapore); 
LASALLE College of the Arts (Singapore); &
The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Department of Performance (US) 

[Login]

::: all events broadcasted live via Adobe Connect Webconference :::
https://connect.ntu.edu.sg/thirdspacenetwork/
Download the Adobe Connect application if prompted
Select “Guest,” type your name, “Enter Room”

[Symposium Chair]

Randall Packer
Associate Professor of Networked Art
Nanyang Technological University (NTU)
School of Art, Design and Media, Singapore
EMAIL: [email protected]

::: ONLINE REGISTRATION :::

[About]

The Art of the Networked Practice Online Symposium is an international gathering presenting emerging research, artistic work, and technological innovation in the networked arts. Intended as a global and inclusive gathering, with no registration fees, the symposium unites local and remote speakers and audiences from all corners of the world via Webconferencing, bridging Singapore with an active international new media arts community that transcends geographic and cultural boundaries. The symposium demonstrates how networked space can be used to activate live performance and online artistic work, stimulate creative dialogue, and encourage open sharing of knowledge through an online global exchange.

[Social Broadcasting:
An Unfinished Communications Revolution]

Media historian and activist Gene Youngblood signals the need for “a communications revolution… an alternative social world” that decentralizes the experience of the live broadcast through the creative work of collaborative communities. In response to Youngblood’s call-to-action, the Art of the Networked Practice Online Symposium will have as its theme, “Social Broadcasting: An Unfinished Communications Revolution.” Through the presentation of keynotes, live performances, and global roundtable discussions, the Art of the Networked Practice Online Symposium explores the concept of social broadcasting and its histories as a revolutionary shift from one-to-many streaming and performance modalities to distributed peer-to-peer interactions that creatively join artists and audiences in live, networked spaces.

[Program @ a Glance]
Day 1: Thursday, March 29

School of Art, Design & Media, NTU, ADM 3-25, Singapore
7am-10am CDT-Chicago / 8am-11am EDT-East Coast / 1pm-4pm BST-UK /
2pm-5pm CEDT-Central Europe / 8pm-11pm SGT-Singapore

Being & Connectedness in Telematic Space

  • KEYNOTE: Maria Chatzichristodoulou, Associate Professor in Performance and New Media, London South Bank University, UK
  • LIVE NETWORKED PERFORMANCE: Directed and performed by Annie Abrahams (FR) with Antye Greie (FI), Helen Varley Jamieson (DE), Soyung Lee (KR), Hương Ngô (US), Daniel Pinheiro (PT), Igor Stromajer (DE)
  • POST-PERFORMANCE GLOBAL ROUNDTABLE: Moderated by Maria Chatzichristodoulou and Annie Abrahams with collaborators
Day 2: Friday, March 30

LASALLE College of the Arts, Block F, Level 3, Room F309, Singapore
7am-10am CDT-Chicago / 8am-11am EDT-East Coast / 1pm-4pm BST-UK /
2pm-5pm CEDT-Central Europe / 8pm-11pm SGT-Singapore

Networking the Real & the Fictional

  • INTRODUCTION: Steve Dixon, President, LASALLE College of the Arts, Singapore
  • KEYNOTE: Matt Adams, Blast Theory Co-founder, UK
  • GLOBAL ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION: Moderated by Maria Chatzichristodoulou and Steve Dixon
Day 3: Saturday, March 31

School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Dept of Performance, Performance Space 012 (Columbia Bldg basement)
10am-1pm CDT-Chicago / 11am-2pm EDT-East Coast / 4pm-7pm BST-UK /
5pm-8pm CEDT-Central Europe / 11pm-2am SGT-Singapore

igaies (intimate glitches across internet errors)

  • INTRODUCTION: Jon Cates, Associate Professor Film, Video, and New Media, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, US
  • LIVE NETWORKED PERFORMANCE: Directed and performed by Jon Cates (US) with Roberto Sifuentes (US), Arcángel Constantini (MX), Shawné Michaelain Holloway (US), 愛真 Janet Lin (US) & Paula Pinho Martins Nacif (UK) (XXXtraPrincess)
  • POST-PERFORMANCE GLOBAL ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION: Moderated by Jon Cates and Roberto Sifuentes with collaborators
  • CLOSING: Randall Packer, Symposium Chair

See Program for specific times and details.

[Third Space Network]

The Third Space Network (3SN) is an Internet broadcast channel for the live media arts and creative dialogue. 3SN is a project of Randall Packer in conjunction with research at his studio in Washington, DC, and the School of Art, Design and Media, Nanyang Technological University in Singapore, where he is an Associate Professor of Networked Art.

The Art of the Networked Practice Online Symposium is made possible through support from LASALLE College of the Arts, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, School of Art, Design and Media at Nanyang Technological University, along with support from NTU CLASS, EdeX, and Startup Funds.